Share FedFan!

Playing on New Year’s Day, Roger Federer made a winning start to open his 2014 season. The Swiss maestro was in good form for his first match since the middle of November, and he looked comfortable with his new racquet too.

Roger Federer 2014 Brisbane Nike Outfit

Federer fired 9 aces, hitting no double faults, while serving at 61%, winning 79% of points on his first serve, and 64% of points on his second serve. He saved all four break points faced and converted on 3/4 opportunities. After 1 hour 8 minutes, the 17-time grand slam champion was through, 6-4 6-2, into the quarterfinals at the Brisbane International.

federer_2014_brisbane_55

In doubles, Federer/Mahut will take on Chardy/Dimitrov on Thursday, January 2, not before 2pm local time in Brisbane (11pm EST/8pm PST January 1).

[poll id=”5″]

Federer Opens 2014 with Winning Start

Highlights and Press Conference Video (via Brisbane International YouTube Channel).

Press Conference.

The Swiss maestro was been busy this off season, both on court with training and off court with business matters. Catch up on the latest news and updates.

Roger Federer Confirms New Racquet for 2014

Roger Federer Confirms Stefan Edberg as Coach

Roger and Mirka Federer Expecting Newborn in 2014

The Swiss star is making his first appearance at the Brisbane International. See the full draw here. Following that and leading into the Australian Open, Federer will take part in an exhibition match with Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, “A Night with Roger Federer and Friends,” to be held at Rod Laver Arena on January 8.

In earlier news, the Swiss star and agent Tony Godsick formally created their new agency, Team8.

federerfan07.com
@FedererFan07
the #1 Federer site

Share FedFan!