Share FedFan!

2017 Nitto ATP Finals Preview – Coming into the year-end ATP Finals with a 49-4 record and two grand slams, Roger Federer is ready to cap a stellar season with a record extending 7th title against the world’s best in London. Qualifying for the ATP Finals for a record 15th time, the Swiss maestro is looking to put the final touches on one of the best seasons of his career. Coming back from injury layoff for the second half of 2016, the now 19-time grand slam champion has won two grand slams, three ATP Masters 1000 titles, and two ATP 500 titles in 2017, including a 4-0 record against world #1 Rafael Nadal. Placed in opposite groups, the two legends could face off in the final match of the ATP Finals for the first time since 2010.

Federer will face Jack Sock to kick off the 2017 Nitto ATP Finals on Sunday. The American qualified for the first time by winning his first ATP Masters 1000 title at the Rolex Paris Masters. The world’s top eight players, split into two groups, Group Pete Sampras and Group Boris Becker, will face each other once in a round robin format. The top two players of each group will advance to the semifinals, where the #1 of Group Pete Sampras will face #2 of Group Boris Becker, and #2 of Group Pete Sampras facing #1 of Group Boris Becker. The winners will face off in the final match on Sunday, November 19. Schedule of play will be between two sessions (day session 2pm London/9am EST/6am PST, night session 8pm London/3pm EST/12pm PST). View the groups below, noted with current ranking.

Group Pete Sampras

#1 Rafael Nadal
#4 Dominic Thiem
#6 Grigor Dimitrov
#7 David Goffin

Group Boris Becker

#2 Roger Federer
#3 Alexander Zverev
#5 Marin Cilic
#8 Jack Sock

Apple Watch Series 3 Nike+ Review

NikeCourt Zoom Vapor RF X AJ3 Atmos

Wilson Pro Staff RF97 Autograph 100 Hours Review

Roger Federer 2017 Nitto ATP Finals

Wilson Pro Staff RF85 Limited Edition Review

The Roger Federer Legacy Tennis Ball

Federer DNA 12 Pack Tennis Bag

“It’s a good achievement,” said Federer of qualifying for the season-ending tournament yet again. “Last year I couldn’t be here, so it’s nice to be able to do it again because this year I had to start farther back in the rankings. My early goal was to be maybe at the halfway point before or after Wimbledon, around 8th in the world.”

“By winning the Australian Open I was pretty much in a good position throughout after that, so I was very happy how I played throughout the entire season,” he added. “I’m very happy to be here again and get a chance to compete with the best. It’s always one of the big highlights of the year playing here.”

“It’s special, but it’s not tougher.” said Federer, who turned pro just five months after Zverev was born. “I’m used to it by now, playing against young guys … where I feel it is just that I cannot play 25 tournaments anymore – I mean, I can, but I don’t know what the outcome would be!”

2017 Nitto ATP Finals Preview

Source: ATP World Tour

federerfan07.com
@FedererFan07
All Roger Federer. All the time.

Share FedFan!