Share FedFan!

It was a tough opening game, but after holding serve, even Roger Federer didn’t think he would win the next ten games and defeat one of his toughest rivals in just 56 minutes. The sold out crowd at the O2 Arena in London was eagerly anticipating Thursday night’s final Group B round robin match. For the 33-year-old Swiss, because of Kei Nishikori’s three set victory over David Ferrer (substituting in for Milos Raonic, who withdrew earlier in the day), he was already qualified for the semifinal stage of the 2014 Barclays ATP World Tour Finals. For Murray to advance however, he would need to win in straight sets; a three set victory would not be enough.

Roger Federer London World Tour Finals 2014 Nike Outfit

DETAILS: Wilson Pro Staff RF97 Autograph

VIDEO: First Take: Wilson Pro Staff RF97 Autograph Review

federer_2014_worldtourfinals_61

No such scenario would happen this night. The 6-time World Tour Finals champion would race out to a 5-0 lead in 19 minutes, and in a blur, nearly scored a double bagel over the Brit. Murray managed to hold just before that happened, and Federer then served it out comfortably, 6-0 6-1, to finish 3-0 in the round robin stage. He is the winner of his group, and will advance to the semifinals, along with Kei Nishikori.

Nike to Release Roger Federer’s NikeCourt Zoom Vapor AJ 3 “Black Cement”

Federer Brushes Past Nishikori in London

Federer will face the second player to qualify from Group A, while Nishikori will face the winner of the opposing group. Winners of Saturday’s semifinals face off Sunday evening (6pm London/1pm ET/10am PT).

Instagram

Federer Dominates Murray at London World Tour Finals

Watch full coverage of the 2014 Barclays ATP World Tour Finals on FedFanTV.

federerfan07.com
@FedererFan07
All Roger Federer. All the time.

Share FedFan!